Scroll to Top

Zim Achievers Awards Australia off to a Flying start

By zimbuzz / Published on Tuesday, 31 Oct 2017 09:55 AM / Comments Off on Zim Achievers Awards Australia off to a Flying start / 1393 views

The Inaugural Zimbabwe Achievers Awards (ZAA) Australia which took place Saturday 28 October 2017 in Adelaide left a memorable experience.

Before the proceedings began Honorable Walter Muzembi who is the new Zimbabwean Minister of Foreign Affairs gave a brief speech via an audio-visual recording.

He acknowledged HonorableZoe Bettison, Australian Minister for Communities and Social Inclusion and Senator Gichuhi, Australia’s first black African Senator, Mr Conrad Mwanza, the ZAA Chairman and the sponsors ‘for having the faith in the concept of celebrating our Zimbabweanness and excellence in various areas of our pursuit’. 

Honorable Muzembi emphasized that under his new portfolio, the Diaspora Investment and Remittances Facilitation programme would be a major pillar of his foreign policy thrust.

One of the night’s major corporate sponsors WorldRemit also revealed that it would be working on easing the cash crisis in Zimbabwe.

“As family and friends back in Zimbabwe are facing the challenge of how to get cash in the current cash crisis, WorldRemit is looking at new solutions to helping customers and will be guaranteeing cash for collection in Zimbabwe coming very soon,” said a statement.

Mr Conrad Mwanza further highlighted the significance of the Zimbabwean Diaspora. “The Zimbabwean Diaspora is an important constituency that the Zimbabwean government cannot afford to ignore and they need to engage more to be able to unlock its (vast) potential.

Through ZAA we have been able to see a lot of successful Zimbabweans who are patriotic and they want to contribute, however, it is a case of finding ways to engage them,” he said.


The 2017 ZAA Australia winners are

Business of the Year:

Omasters Accountants


Female Entrepreneur of the Year

Ruby Lyn


Male Entrepreneur of the Year



Professional of the Year

Dr Gerald Chitsunge & Dr Pethidia Mango


Community Organization of the Year

Single Mother Foundation


Academic Excellence

Cephas Chiduku


Community Champion of the Year Female

Thembelihle Moyo Ncube


Community Champion of the Year Male

Japhet Ncube


Cultural Ambassador

Felix Machiridza


Event of the Year

Cancer Girls’ Night In


Musician/Artist of the Year



Personality of the Year

Obey Chingoriyo (Terry Obza)


People’s Choice

Lucky Ngoshi


Sports Person of the Year

Amanda Chigeza


Music Video of the Year

Tkay Maidza


Media Personality of the Year

Joseph Muvengi (Papa Joze)


Trend Fashion & Design Award

Emily Jokwiro – (Klassic Designs By Emily) Melbourne


Young Achievers Award

Takudzwa Nyamvura


Friend of Zimbabwe Award

Senator Lucy Guchui


Life Time Outstanding Contribution Awards



Chairman’s Honorary Award

Ruth PasiMagodo




error: Content is protected !!