Sunday, December 10, 2023

Latest Posts

Revealed: How Pasuwa and H -Metro’s Chipo Sabeta Voted in FIFA Best Player of the Year 2016

Real Madrid and Portugal forward Cristiano Ronaldo was Monday Night crowned the best player in the inaugural Best FIFA Football Awards in Zurich.

Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal and Real Madrid kisses the Best Men’s Player Award trophy
Pic: Toronto Star

The winner was decided by votes from national captains, media and managers, who each picked, in order, their top three players of 2016.

According to FIFA, a first placed pick is worth five points, second place is worth three points and third place is worth one point.

Zimbabwe was represented by National Team coach Kalisto Pasuwa and the media was represented by H-Metro reporter Chipo Sabeta also known as Chichi.

Surprisingly the Warriors Captain Williard Katsande did not cast his vote.

For the votes cast it was the media lady Chipo whose choices were winners in both categories.

H Metro reporter Chipo Sabeta

Although they were more than one category voted for, Zimbabwe only partcipated in two , Men’s Player of the year and Men’s Coach of the year.

Here is How They voted


Men’s Player of the Year

Kalisto Pasuwa – Lionel Messi | Cristiano Ronaldo | Manuel Neuer

Chipo Sabeta –  Cristiano Ronaldo | Lionel Messi | N’Golo Kante


Men’s Coach of the Year

Kalisto Pasuwa –  Fernando Santos | Luis Enrique | Diego Siemone

Chipo Sabeta – Claudio Ranieri | Fernando Santos | Zinedine Zidane


Share Your Comments

Latest Posts

Don't Miss